Home > homework > Journalism Jobs Go Here!

Journalism Jobs Go Here!

For this week, you need to visit journalismjobs.com and find a job you’d like. Paste a link to the job description in the comments and write about why the job is interesting to you and what skills you would need to get it.

Categories: homework
  1. Ellyn Fortino
    October 14, 2009 at 12:31 am

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1107378

    I could see this job, or one similar, being very close to my ultimate career goal. Seeing as a lot of one’s life is spent working, I would absolutely have to be working for a company that shared my moral and ethical beliefs. Working for a humanitarian aid organization and/or media outlet in broad terms seems like a direction that would work for me. This job post specifically is looking for managing editor/ web and publications development. I liked this position because it encompasses a little bit of everything: writing, editing, managing, web site development, preparing and administrating unit budget, overseeing the final print or electronic product before it is released, and a whole lot more. I could see myself in a position like this because I enjoy and have the capacity for juggling many responsibilities (the paycheck isn’t too shabby either). Some skills or training I would need to acquire before I could be considered a candidate for this job would be: higher educational degree, at least 5 years experience, knowledge of print production and graphic design, understanding of international affairs, and experience working with humanitarian organizations. I would probably need to brush up on my Spanish too. A business/management minor or background would be beneficial as well. So pretty much I need lots of school and lots of experience to be qualified.

  2. Megan Hammond
    October 14, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1110245
    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1104446

    I think out of all of the options, I find these two the most appealing.
    They are both online journalism sources which is ultimately what I want to work on in the long run. The first link is very cool because the writer can write about pretty much whatever they want (as long as it’s non-fiction). It can be between 400-600 words, which is primarily the same as any news and/or magazine article. The second link, however, is probably the career I am most aiming for. It’s writing for an online magazine. It’s not as free-lance as the first link but I’d prefer having a topic to write about rather than come up with my own (because mine would probably be bizarre).

  3. Aaron Pylinski
    October 15, 2009 at 12:34 am

    What’s interesting about being an Editorial Intern for Georgia Magazine? I personally don’t see myself as a free lance writer in Ocala, FLA or middle of nowhere, S. Dakota. There isn’t much to look at and let alone, not much to write about. My love lies in Punk and Ska music and although I enjoy the music scene here in Chicago, it lacks the true passion that I am striving for. So, I went abroad and found something that would be an excellent stepping stone for a guy like me. I’m looking ultimately for the most sex, most drugs and most rock and roll, and the Inner London Violence of the UK PUNK/SKA scene is where it is at. I don’t want to be stuck behind a desk or running some large company, I want to be in the trenches drinking piss-warm beer with a bunch of OI Boys or Moonstomping with the Rudest of Rudy’s. I’ll save the khakis and button down shirts for the go-getters and the Yes-men (or women). If I can interview and write sans shirt, and all messed up on something, then I’ve found what I am good at. Yes, Jah Love!

    http://uk.music-jobs.com/jobsboard_detail.php?affid=4444&job_uid=24474948&idx=11

  4. Alessandra Incandela
    October 15, 2009 at 12:55 am

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1098944

    This job would best fit me because it focuses on Entertainments news. Although my dream job would consist of working for E! news, interning and experience are needed when applying for this job. I know my first job probably won’t be as an entertainment journalist because, I would need several years of experience, but I like that this specific job focuses on movies, music, pop culture, television, and gossip. I believe that I can deliver this type of news with humor and get the reader interested. I have been fascinated with the entertainment world since childhood and this position as an editor at Yahoo would suit me. I will need to learn how to use photoshop and several other photo management systems. This job would benefit me in many ways and could help lead me in the right direction to more opportunities as an entertainment journalist.

  5. Evan Braun
    October 15, 2009 at 1:04 am

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1110223

    Yahoo!
    Lead Local Editor

    This would be an interesting job for me because I think internet news and media is a very cutting area of the job market. However, I feel that often times internet news can detract from people receiving local news. It would be nice to be involved in a career that brings that sense of locality to the internet. Also, Yahoo is an internationally recognized company and it would be good to work for such a well-known organization. To get this job the main thing I would need is far more experience. They require working at least five in journalism with at least three of those years being based on the internet. I would also need a lot more experience in editing. So, although it would be an enticing career it would clearly not be an entry-level position, but a job I would be able to get later in my career.

  6. October 15, 2009 at 1:45 am

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1104779

    Movie Reviewer / Film Critic

    I think that this job would not feel like work at all. Watching a movie is a hobby. I would just watch the movie, make notes while watching it, write my full opinion out at home, then relax. My job as a movie reviewer could be a night out with family, movie with friends, or a date. Taking someone would be even better because I could then take their opinion into account while working. Of course I would have to stay in touch with the media, but that could be looked at as surfing the web or reading the newspaper.
    The requirements are a college degree, writing skills, and at least one year of experience. I would not make this a permanent job, but it would be cool to start off,

  7. October 15, 2009 at 1:46 am

    .

  8. October 15, 2009 at 1:46 am

    *. instead of *,

  9. Erin Blackwell
    October 15, 2009 at 2:13 am

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1098944

    This job interests me because Entertainment news is something I might want to get into in the future. The internet is becoming one of the main news sources for journalism now, and I think this would be a great experience. I was always interested in what was happening in the entertainment world and this job would definitely let me be apart of that. This job would also allow me to be creative and let me work with other people. In order to qualify for this job I would need a bachelor’s degree, 3+ years of journalism experience in entertainment, and some online experience. I would also have to have strong grammar skills and be good with html,web production tools, Photoshop, Flash, and several other photo management systems. I would have to work my way up, but being an Entertainment editor for Yahoo would be a great job in the future.

  10. October 15, 2009 at 3:10 am

    There’s not an array of jobs that look super interesting–Brookings, South Dakota isn’t quite the cultural hotbed Chicago is–but there’s a handful. A staff reporter for The American Lawyer seems like an advantageous job. If AL allows you to be probing, and isn’t too closely allied with whomever would impede your investigation once the questions start to get too analytical, then I’d be in. The field of law is immeasurably fascinating, and you don’t need a massive amount of experience. Aside from the givens(strong reporting, strong writing, and strong nose for news), all you need is three years experience with your degree. That sounds reasonable if you’re permitted to be a part of the writing staff of a major news publication.
    Being involved with The Village Voice would be cool too, even if it’s as a restaurant critic, which I certainly have no experience in.
    Ace reporter (as they put it) for The Denver Daily News would most likely be an invaluable experience, if only because you get to spend time in the news room of a major American city. Old school newsroom journalism now almost seems archaic, but it’s still the idealized notion in my mind. I would be able to imagine being Denver’s Bob Woodward.
    And lastly, Associate or Full Professor for The Department of Journalism, Communication and Theatre for Lehman College in the Bronx sounds like it could be a good gig, and you get to hang in New York.

  11. Cari
    October 15, 2009 at 3:24 am

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1109362
    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=949741

    There wasn’t many options that really fit exactly what I want to do. But for the first one it was definitely close. I like how it’s writing for local newspapers and online. I want to go into sports writing and reporting so that was definitely a main reason why I chose this one. I like how some of the locations are in Canada because I like the hockey scene. The perfect job for me would be in Chicago and covering the professional teams here. But I realize you have to start off small and with whatever you can get. So the second one I chose would be amazing to start off with. I love it how it works directly with the athletes.

  12. Eric Witt
    October 15, 2009 at 3:57 am

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1110543
    This first link is to a job that is very basic. Basic because of the flexible hours and payment by each article. It seems like a relatively restricted job, but great for building a portfolio which any journalist will need. Just going into the field, this would be a great starting point. The only skills I would need is enthusiasm, from the looks of it. It is such an entry level job that by showing my desire to work there, and the basic qualification that I am studying journalism (or after graduating with my degree for Journalism), I most likely wouldn’t have to hard of a time getting a job here. Unless there are details I overlooked.

  13. October 15, 2009 at 4:39 am

    The job that i felt that I could acually handle in this very intenses and fast paste journalism world is the producer job. I had an idea of what a producer does but didn’t know enough, so when i looked it up it seemed to me like the producer is the one who puts everything together (like an event coordinator). I know for a fact that with the right amount of training i could handle this. The key to being a producer is being very organized. The skills that were needed for the job I chose (which was a producer for KRON 4 News) were listed; ability to use state of the art live and graphic technologies, digital editing systems, and to work with writers, reporters and assignment editors on story development College degree or equivalent in journalism/communications or broadcasting preferred Management reserves the discretion to add or modify job duties as required Must be a self-starter, hard worker, have a great attitude, and be versatile and efficient. The last line won’t be so hard. I wasn’t too knowledgeable of the a lot of the jobs in broadcast/journalism but producing or anything behind the camera seems like the direction i would like to go in.

  14. October 15, 2009 at 4:47 am

    When I went to the website I made a list of my top 5 jobs. This particular job stood out to me the most because its far from home. I would love to get the opportunity to venture to other places and live outside of Chicago. When we had our guest speaker come in last week and we talked to him about his business I was so interested in seeing what job I could do where I could work with the web and still doing journalism. Design is what I’m interested, whether its designing the layout of a magazine or newspaper its something that I’m interested in doing. I want to do something like that because I would like to test my limits and see just how creative I could get. I would want to do something out of the box but catchy. The skills that I would need to master this job would be: I’m not really sure what degree I would need or what classes to take to get here. I didn’t really know how to narrow it down to what i wanted to do within journalism but I now have an idea and I would like some help wit that.

  15. October 15, 2009 at 5:41 am

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1110205

    There were a lot of jobs that I liked, but photography won me over as I knew I would be able to photograph news, sports, etc. This is something that I have enjoyed doing for years and there would be nothing better than doing something I really love and getting paid for it. Also, I have had the experience with it for 3 and half years now, so I know what is to be expected. I like being able to take pictures that tell a story, and I think that I would be able to this with this job. The skills that I would need: knowledge of color, studio lighting, and adobe workshop, so anything digital.

  16. Brian Gray
    October 15, 2009 at 6:36 am

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1105505

    Since I really don’t know what I really want to do in the journalism field, I think writing for a food magazine would be quite enjoyable. The job is based in St. Louis, which is less urban than I would like, but there would be some delicious food choices. I mainly like this job because it doesn’t solely revolve around writing. The position calls for a little bit of everything, which is what I prefer to do. Being on high school publications, you really learn to appreciate every aspect of running a publication so I would want a job that isn’t focused on one aspect of journalism. The position calls for an applicant that is well rounded in writing, design, managing and editing. Ideally my job would involve all of those. The job requires two years of full time magazine experience, fluency in InDesign and Photoshop, and optional web experience. To get this job I would need to work on design and web skills, as well as writing.

  17. Calvin Davenport
    October 15, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Sometimes being a journalist means that you have to be fair and balanced and not be biased. But i have always wanted to use my skills in order to help those who really need it the most which is America’s consumers, the average people. I saw a postion that caught my attention which is an investigative reporter for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. This seems like it will not only be an exciting job,in which i can learn more, but it can be rewarding knowing that you can help someone who may not have known what to do.

  18. October 15, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1110205

    Being both a photographer AND a photo major, I naturally did a straight search for a job in this field. I have to admit that shooting for a newspaper isn’t at the top of my list, but photojournalism is something I am interested in. Since I am always looking for ways to get to know new places (and people), shipping off to rural Iowa doesn’t seem too far out of the question. Besides, I’ve had enough of the city for awhile. Shooting for a small town newspaper would be a great opportunity to flex my photojournalistic muscles and learning about the trade indepth. I’m positive I would do great here with my current equipment and skill set. The salary would be enough for me to live modestly which is all I could want and hope for at this point, and I think it would be quite fun to shoot on assignment without the fast paced, do or die atmosphere of the big city. That’s why I would choose to contact The N’West Iowa REVIEW.

  19. Candace Neal
    October 15, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1055544
    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1109667
    There were a couple of jobs that stood out to me. The first one that caught my attention was the Editorial writer for the Sacramento Bee. The sounds like something I would be good at. This job is located in Sacramento California. The change of weather could be good for me. But also, I think everyone expects me to do magazine writing but I would like to venture out and see what else is out there. The second job that I liked was the Copy eidtor/page designer because I am really good at putting things together and figuring out where things should go.

  20. Meghan Williams
    October 15, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1099128

    This would be the ideal job because I like everything about it. First of all its in New York which is somewhere i’d like to live and second of all I would be working for a magazine, which is what i’d hope to do. The job entitles me to produce articles, blog posts, photos and multimedia for the web site of T Magazine. I get to work with photographers and I would get to write about fashion. This is like the ideal job.

  21. Monica Seiceanu
    October 15, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1110046

    This job seems like a great way to get my feet wet in the journalism industry. I would not be well suited for a “behind the desk” cubicle job for the rest of my life. One thing in particular that interested me about this internship was that you have to EXPERIENCE Georgia life, to inform others about Georgia’s community happenings. I personally see myself eventually working for a fashion magazine, writing about fashion trends and working on styling projects and shoots.
    The requirements for this job are a good understanding of the English language for writing, proofing and editing, must be a creative thinker with good organizational skills, knowledge of computer word-processing programs is important, desktop publishing, web publishing and AP Style (a plus!), and you must be in conjunction with university/college career center.
    It seems like a great way to get my feet wet in the journalism industry!

  22. Areia Jackson
    October 15, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1104779

    I chose this job link because I’ve really become interested in online media writing. I thought that this job was a good way to start off in the journalism field–although my dream job is to work for Vogue one day. It says in the ad that it is a freelance job that would include going to films( requested of course), reading books, listening and watching broadcasts and also watching dvd’s. For me to obtain this job, they require me to have a college degree, excellent english skills, and 1+ years of writing. Something i can obtain and would like to do.

  23. Holly Hurston
    October 21, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    http://www.journalismjobs.com/Job_Listing.cfm?JobID=1108733

    I chose this link because I really enjoy reviewing places that people can go enjoy like a play, movie, concert, or restaurant. The over all job is to move to LA and start to go out to restaurants and write all about the feel/look of them, service, food, price points, just everything. Then after you have done your research you go write write and post all of this on their website since the real place where it will be seen is a blog. What I need to really do this job is a better understanding of how food is prepare and what is truly great cuisine. I already know a little but my palette is not as refined as it needs to be to become a great restaurant reviewer. The ad doesn’t really say what else I need but I bet experience with this type of writing not to mention a degree would be helpful but then again it is a freelance position. My real passion is reviewing movies which I know quite a bit about. This would just be a enjoyable job eating and rating restaurants. “Tres cool”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment